, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2016_dffThe winners of the 39th Denver Film Festival, which took place from November 2nd to 13th, have been announced. Here are the winners in the top categories.

Juried Awards

The Krzysztof Kieslowski Award for Best Feature Film

“The Last Family” by Jan P. Matuszynski (Poland)

Special Jury Prize: Best Actress

Hayley Squires in “I, Daniel Blake”

The American Independent Narrative Award

“Hunter Gatherer” by Joshua Locy (USA)

The Maysles Brothers Award for Best Documentary Film

“Do Not Resist” by Craig Atkinson

Best Short Animated Film

“The Noise of Licking” by Nadja Andrasev (Hungary)

People’s Choice Award presented by STARZ

Narrative Feature

“Lion” by Garth Davis (Australia)

Documentary Feature

“The Eagle Huntress” by Otto Bell (United Kingdom)

Short Film

“The Chop” by Lewis Rose (United Kingdom)

Music Video

“The Avalanches – Subways” by Mrzyk & Moriceau (France)

For more information about the 2016 Denver Film Festival winners, please visit the festival’s official website.