Tags

, , , , , , , ,

tree_and_swing_posterA woman returns to her birth-place to find out if she can still call it a home.

Eleni, is a professor of cardiology living in London with her family. She had left Greece 15 years ago despite her father’s objection. When Eleni’s husband Harry, who works for a major corporation, loses his job he has to move to China to get a new one. Once again Eleni has to move to another country only now it’s not only her own decision to make.

In order to confront this dilemma she decides to return for a while to her birth-place. She and her 10-year-old daughter Anna go to Greece for the Easter vacation to stay with Eleni’s father Kyriakos. Yet Kyriakos, who had been a refugee child in Yugoslavia, has never accepted the fact that his daughter had willingly left her own country.

Now, when Eleni returns she finds a different situation from what she had imagined. Her father doesn’t live alone. He lives in his house in the country with a woman from Serbia named Nina and her 11-year-old daughter Mira. So, is Eleni the only person who can call her birth-place a home?

UK Title: A Place Called Home

Genre: Drama

Starring: Mirto Alikaki, Mirjana Karanovic, Ilias Logothetis, Nikos Orfanos, John Bicknell, Iris Mitta, Eleni Kouletsi

Director: Maria Douza

Writer: Maria Douza

Music by: Anna Stereopoulou

Language: Greek

Release Date: February 6, 2014 (Greece)

Movie Quote: You have to step back, to see the big picture

Movie Trailer Translated Quotes and Dialogues:

“I’m thinking of going to Greece, to go and see my father.”

“Is it really to see your father? Or is it that home will always be there for you?”

A home still waiting

“Give it to me. I am Nina. Welcome.”

Based on a true story

“Nina, you’ve met my daughter. Eleni, this is Nina.”

“I help your father with the house, cooking, everything…”

A war that never ended

“You can’t understand today that the world at that time was divided. We believed it would stay like that forever.”

“Happy Easter! Christ is risen!”

“Why didn’t you tell me anything about Nina?”

A family forever parted

“I wanted to give you some time to get to know each other.”

“Where are you from Nina?”

“I’m from Serbia, Belgrade.”

“Your mother’s belongings. I haven’t touched them at all.”

A lost childhood

“I grew up in silence. An endless silence.”

“Don’t touch me. You’re nothing to me.”

CinemaFriend’s Trailer Rating:
Trailer Scene selection:
8/10

Trailer Music: 7/10

Total: 7.5/10

For more info you can visit the official movie site.

