, , , , , , , , ,

oscar_2014_nominationsHere are the nominees of the 86th Academy Awards, which will take place on Sunday 2nd March, 2014 (7e/4p on ABC).

Best Picture

  • “American Hustle” by David O. Russell
  • “Nebraska” by Alexander Payne
  • “Captain Phillips” by Paul Greengrass
  • “Philomena” by Stephen Frears
  • “Dallas Buyers Club” by Jean-Marc Vallee
  • “12 Years a Slave” by Steve McQueen
  • “Gravity” by Alfonso Cuaron
  • “The Wolf of Wall Street” by Martin Scorsese
  • “Her” by Spike Jonze


  • David O. Russell for “American Hustle”
  • Paul Greengrass for “Captain Phillips”
  • Alfonso Cuaron for “Gravity”
  • Alexander Payne for “Nebraska”
  • Steve McQueen for “12 Years a Slave”
  • Martin Scorsese for “The Wolf of Wall Street”

Actor in a Leading Role

  • Christian Bale in “American Hustle”
  • Chiwetel Ejiofor in “12 Years a Slave”
  • Bruce Dern in “Nebraska”
  • Matthew McConaughey in “Dallas Buyers Club”
  • Leonardo DiCaprio in “The Wolf of Wall Street”

Actress in a Leading Role

  • Amy Adams in “American Hustle”
  • Judi Dench in “Philomena”
  • Cate Blanchett in “Blue Jasmine”
  • Meryl Streep in “August: Osage County”
  • Sandra Bullock in “Gravity”

Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Barkhad Abdi in “Captain Phillips”
  • Jonah Hill in “The Wolf of Wall Street”
  • Bradley Cooper in “American Hustle”
  • Jared Leto in “Dallas Buyers Club”
  • Michael Fassbender in “12 Years a Slave”

Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Sally Hawkins in “Blue Jasmine”
  • Julia Roberts in “August: Osage County”
  • Jennifer Lawrence in “American Hustle”
  • June Squibb in “Nebraska”
  • Lupita Nyong’o in “12 Years a Slave”

Foreign Language Film

  • “The Broken Circle Breakdown” by Felix Van Groeningen (Belgium)
  • “The Great Beauty” (“La Grande Bellezza”) by Paolo Sorrentino (Italy)
  • “The Hunt” (“Jagten”) by Thomas Vinterberg (Denmark)
  • “The Missing Picture” (“L’ Image Manquante″) by Rithy Panh (Cambodia)
  • “Omar” by Hany Abu-Assad (Palestine)

Animated Feature Film

  • “The Croods” by Kirk De Micco and Chris Sanders
  • “Frozen” by Chris Buck and Jennifer Lee
  • “Despicable Me 2″ by Pierre Coffin and Chris Renaud
  • “The Wind Rises” by Hayao Miyazaki
  • “Ernest & Celestine” by Stephane Aubier, Vincent Patar and Benjamin Renner 

Documentary Feature

  • “The Act of Killing” by Joshua Oppenheimer
  • “Cutie and the Boxer” by Zachary Heinzerling
  • “Dirty Wars” by Richard Rowley
  • “The Square” by Jehane Noujaim
  • “20 Feet from Stardom” by Morgan Neville

Short Film Live Action

  • “Aquel No Era Yo” (“That Wasn’t Me”) by Esteban Crespo
  • Avant Que De Tout Perdre” (“Just Before Losing Everything”) by Xavier Legrand
  • “Helium” by Anders Walter
  • “Pitaako Mun Kaikki Hoitaa?” (“Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?”) by Selma Vilhunen
  • “The Voorman Problem” by Mark Gill

Short Film Animated

  • “Feral” by Daniel Sousa
  • “Get a Horse!” by Lauren MacMullan
  • “Mr. Hublot” by Laurent Witz and Alexandre Espigares
  • “Possessions” by Shuhei Morita
  • “Room on the Broom” by Max Lang and Jan Lachauer

Documentary Short

  • “Cavedigger” by Jeffrey Karoff
  • “Facing Fear” by Jason Cohen
  • “Karama Has No Walls” by Sara Ishaq
  • “The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life” by Malcolm Clarke
  • “Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall” by Edgar Barens

Writing – Original Screenplay

  • Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell for “American Hustle”
  • Woody Allen for “Blue Jasmine”
  • Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack for “Dallas Buyers Club”
  • Spike Jonze for “Her”
  • Bob Nelson for “Nebraska”

Writing – Adapted Screenplay

  • Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke for “Before Midnight”
  • Billy Ray for “Captain Phillips”
  • Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope for “Philomena”
  • John Ridley for “12 Years a Slave”
  • Terence Winter for “The Wolf of Wall Street”

Music – Original Song

  • “Happy” (from “Despicable Me 2”) Music/Lyrics by: Pharrell Williams
  • “Let it Go” (from “Frozen”) Music/Lyrics by: Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez
  • The Moon Song” (from “Her”) Music by: Karen O, Lyrics by:Karen O and Spike Jonze
  • “Ordinary Love” (from “Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom”) Music by: Paul Hewson, Dave Evans, Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen Jr., Lyrics by: Paul Hewson

Music – Original Score

  • John Williams for “The Book Thief”
  • Steven Price for “Gravity”
  • William Butler and Owen Pallett for “Her”
  • Alexandre Desplat for “Philomena”
  • Thomas Newman for “Saving Mr. Banks”


  • Philippe Le Sourd for “The Grandmaster”
  • Emmanuel Lubezki for “Gravity”
  • Bruno Delbonnel for “Inside Llewyn Davis”
  • Phedon Papamichael for “Nebraska”
  • Roger A. Deakins for “Prisoners”

Film Editing

  • Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers and Alan Baumgarten for “American Hustle”
  • Christopher Rouse for “Captain Phillips”
  • John Mac McMurphy and Martin Pensa for “Dallas Buyers Club”
  • Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Sanger for “Gravity”
  • Joe Walker for “12 Years a Slave”

Sound Editing

  • Steve Boeddeker and Richard Hymns for “All is Lost”
  • Oliver Tarney for “Captain Phillips”
  • Glenn Freemantle for “Gravity”
  • Brent Burge and Chris Ward for “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”
  • Wylie Stateman for “Lone Survivor”

Sound Mixing

  • Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood, Smith and Chris Munro for “Captain Phillips”
  • Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead and Chris Munro for “Gravity”
  • Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick and Tony Johnson for “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”
  • Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff and Peter F. Kurland for “Inside Llewyn Davis”
  • Andy Koyama, Beau Borders and David Brownlow for “Lone Survivor”

Visual Effects

  • Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, David Shirk and Neil Corbould for “Gravity”
  • Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and Eric Reynolds for “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”
  • Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Erik Nash and Dan Sudick for “Iron Man 3”
  • Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, Edson Williams and John Frazier for “The Lone Ranger”
  • Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann and Burt Dalton for “Star Trek Into Darkness”

Costume Design

  • Michael Wilkinson for “American Hustle”
  • William Chang Suk Ping for “The Grandmaster”
  • Catherine Martin for “The Great Gatsby”
  • Michael O’Conor for “The Invisible Woman”
  • Patricia Norris for “12 Years a Slave”

Production Design

  • Judy Becker (Production Design) and Heather Loeffler (Set Decoration) for “American Hustle”
  • Andy Nicholson (Production Design), Rosie Goodwin and Joanne Woollard (Set Decoration) for “Gravity”
  • Catherine Martin (Production Design) and Beverley Dunn (Set Decoration) for “The Great Gatsby”
  • K.K. Barrett (Production Design) and Gene Serdena (Set Decoration) for “Her”
  • Adam Stockhausen (Production Design) and Alice Baker (Set Decoration) for “12 Years a Slave”

Make-Up and Hairstyling

  • Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews for “Dallas Buyers Club”
  • Stephen Prouty for “Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa”
  • Joel Harlow and Gloria Pasqua-Casny for “The Lone Ranger”

See also:

Movies which have won 7 Academy Awards or more

All time classic films which have won an Oscar for Best Picture

Golden Globe Awards & The Oscars